Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

Close
Stargazer
Stargazer

Stargazer

0-3

FICTION

320 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: EPUB, Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $16.95 (CA $19.95) (US $16.95)

Publication Date: September 2022

ISBN 9780857308221

Rights: US & CA

Oldcastle Books Ltd (Sep 2022)
Verve Books

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Not Yet Published. Estimated release date: September 2022
 

Overview

A darkly compelling coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History or Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies. It is the fall of 1995 at Rocky Barrens University, hidden amidst the pine trees and starry skies of Northern Ontario. Aurelle Taylor, daughter of a world-famous fashion designer becomes the closest friend of burgeoning painter Diana Martin; they have bonded over a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and begin new lives as students at RBU. They are closer than lovers, they are like one thing, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a university that is more summer camp than campus. Diana, who has lived her life under the shadow of her sadistic older brother, rockets to fame with a series of scandalous portraits of Aurelle, whose response is to tumble further into a drug-fueled escapism. Diana must choose whether to rescue her kindred spirit from destruction, or to abandon Aurelle for the fame she has forever thirsted after.The lines between love, envy and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou's utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel.

Reviews

'A sinuous, captivating exploration of the mysterious depths of female friendship that had me hooked from its first pages. The vivid, finely wrought setting - a prestigious, remote college campus - was a delicious reminder of another favourite novel, Donna Tartt's The Secret History. Petrou's dreamlike, note-perfect prose simmers toward a shattering conclusion. This unforgettable novel from a truly talented novelist is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.' - Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of Lucky 'A chilling look at the fine line between love and obsession, longing and desperation, ambition and mania... These women will haunt you' - Gin Phillips, bestselling author of The Well and the Mine 'Stargazer is a galaxy of a novel: At once a story of friendship, a coming of age, and a dark and utterly captivating tale of family, lust, loss, fame, art and the ever competing hope and destructiveness of youth' - Amy Stuart, bestselling author of Still Mine 'An outstanding book with some of the most beautiful lines I've ever read' - Samantha M Bailey, bestselling author, Woman on the Edge 'A slow-burn literary thriller in the best possible way: eerie, beautiful, and impossible to put down. I loved it' - Robyn Harding, bestselling author of The Perfect FamilyPraise for Sister of Mine:A twisty, claustrophobic nail-biter." —Entertainment Weekly's Hot Summer Thrillers"Sibling rivalry on steroids."—BookTrib "Riveting... Readers will be keen to see what Petrou comes up with next." —Publishers Weekly "Readers who enjoy the twisty plots found in Sophie Hannah's and Lisa Jewell's domestic suspense will want to give this one a try." —Booklist "One of the best first novels I've read this year... A brilliantly conceived narrative with wonderful characters and great depth." -Globe and Mail "Gripping, twisty, and singular ...A not to be missed, well-worth-it read. Here's hoping for more from this imaginative, insightful author." -New York Journal of BooksPraise for Love, Heather:"An engaging, emotionally raw tale of social torment and explosive reactions."—Kirkus Reviews "A well-told tale of teenage revenge . . . Readers will keep turning the pages to see how the inevitable emotional explosion plays out." —Publishers Weekly

Author Biography

Laurie Petrou is an award-winning author, and Associate Professor at the RTA School of Media at X (Ryerson) University in Toronto. She is a voracious reader and has been writing stories her whole life. She lives in Niagara with her family, two cats, and a dog. Stargazer is her fourth book.