Audrey of the Outback
Audrey of the Outback

Audrey of the Outback

By Christine Harris, Illustrated by Ann James

Audrey

JUVENILE FICTION

176 Pages, 5.5 x 7.5

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $8.99 (US $8.99) (CA $11.99)

Publication Date: February 2015

ISBN 9781742977959

Rights: US & CA

Little Hare (Feb 2015)
Little Hare Books

Price: $8.99
 
 

Overview

In this story about identity and independence, the gutsy girl from the bush tries being a farmer, a man, a teacher, and a pirate—all with dire consequences!Audrey is a 1930s outback girl with a lot on her mind. Her dad has gone away to work; her brother Price thinks he's too old for games; and little Dougie likes pretending to be a bird. So together with her best friend Stumpy, Audrey ponders some of life's big questions—like whether being a swaggie (or bush traveler, as explained in the handy glossary) is lonelier than being a girl, and whether it's better to be a sheep or a cow. Determined, mischievous, imaginative, and inquisitive, Audrey is Australia's response to Pippi Longstocking and Ramona Quimby.

Reviews

"Full of fascinating detail about rural Australian life, this gentle story will appeal to fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series and Louise Erdrich's The Birchbark House."  —Booklist

"Children will love the fast pace of the plot, and the character development gives the book a nice depth."  —School Library Journal

Author Biography

Christine Harris has written more than 35 books, ranging from picture books to YA thrillers. Harris has been published in more than 10 countries. Ann James is the illustrator of Lucy Goosey and Madeline the Mermaid.