Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Where Roses Never Die
Where Roses Never Die

Where Roses Never Die

By Gunnar Staalesen, Translated by Don Bartlett

Varg Veum Series


285 Pages, 5 x 8

Formats: Trade Paper, Mobipocket, EPUB

Trade Paper, $14.95 (US $14.95) (CA $17.95)

Publication Date: August 2016

ISBN 9781910633090

Rights: US & CA

Orenda Books (Aug 2016)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $14.95


Newest in the Varg Veum series reaffirms Staalesen as one of the world's foremost crime thriller writers

September 1977. Mette Misvær, a three-year-old girl, disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found. Almost 25 years later, as the expiration date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge. Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost crime thriller writers.


"A Norwegian Chandler."  —Jo Nesbo, author, The Bat

"Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means 'wolf' in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth."  —Ian Rankin, author, Resurrection Men

"Gunnar Staalesen was writing suspenseful and socially conscious Nordic Noir long before any of today's Swedish crime writers had managed to put together a single book page. . . one of Norway's most skillful storytellers." —Johan Theorin, author, The Darkest Room

"With its exploration of family dynamics and the complex web of human behaviour, Staalesen's novel echoes the great California author Ross MacDonald's Lew Archer mysteries. . . mature and captivating." —Herald Scotland

"Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces. . . with some abrasive social commentary." —Financial Times

"Stunning."—Publishers Weekly 

"A thoughtful book that probes what it is to be an adult in a close community." —Kingdom Books Blog 

"Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns by a master of the crime thriller genre." —Midwest Book Review 

Author Biography

Gunnar Staalesen published the first Varg Veum book in 1977. He is the author of more than 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold more than four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen where there is is a life-sized statue of Varg Veum in the city center. Don Barlett has translated books by Jo Nesbø', Karl Ove Knausgaard, and Per Petterson.