Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

The Vengeance of the Witch Finder
The Vengeance of the Witch Finder

The Vengeance of the Witch Finder


The House with a Clock in Its Walls


192 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $11.99 (US $11.99) (CA $15.99)

Publication Date: November 2019

ISBN 9781848128187

Rights: US & CA

Bonnier Books UK (Nov 2019)

Price: $11.99


The fifth book in the famous series about Lewis Barnavelt

Lewis and Uncle Jonathan have traveled to England to visit family at the Barnavelt Manor, much to Lewis's delight—he hasn't visited family outside of America before! Lewis becomes friends with the housekeeper's son, Bertie, and as the two boys explore the manor's garden maze, Lewis accidentally unleashes demonic forces that summon the ghost of an evil wizard adamant on destroying his entire family. 


"[Lewis's] endearing character, along with the novel's underlying current of melancholy, makes this much more than run-of-the-mill supernatural entertainment. Chock-full of deliciously spooky details and narrated in a voice that is as cozy as it is ornery, this tale is utterly spellbinding." —Publishers Weekly

"The atmosphere and supernatural effects here are particularly eerie, even for Bellairs. . . . Satisfyingly hair-raising." —Kirkus Reviews

Author Biography

John Bellairs (1938-1991) was an award-winning American author of many gothic mystery novels for children and young adults, including The House with a Clock in Its Walls, which received both the New York Times Outstanding Book of the Year Award. Brad Strickland has written more than 75 books, including the Lewis Barnavelt series after John Bellairs's death in 1991. He is a professor of English at the University of North Carolina Gainesville.