Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
A Time For Monsters
A Time For Monsters

A Time For Monsters

FICTION

332 Pages, 5.5 x 8.5

Formats: Trade Paper, EPUB

Trade Paper, $17.95 (US $17.95) (CA $23.95)

Publication Date: May 2021

ISBN 9781645480693

Rights: WOR

Vesuvian Books (May 2021)

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Not Yet Published. Estimated release date: May 2021
 

Overview

IPPY Award-Winning Author with story inspired by true events from childhood, which is in development for film/TV; 75k PR/Marketing budget  

A Nordic thriller in the vein of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Death Wish, in which a female serial killer, who only feels emotion when listening to music, is hell-bent on revenge and must outwit a disgraced detective determined to redeem himself if she is to complete her carefully orchestrated plan and cover up the ultimate secret. ONLY A MONSTER CAN DO THE WRONG THINGS FOR THE RIGHT REASONS Do you remember the first tape or CD you ever bought? Perhaps you waited for the local station to play the top forty songs on a Sunday so you could record your favorite band. Maybe you downloaded a certain track that reminded you of your wedding day or a graduation. Reyna Blackburn remembers. Every single song for every horrific event in her life. She remembers what song was playing on the radio the first time he hurt her. And she remembers what was playing through her headphones the first time she killed.

Reviews

 "Gareth Worthington delves into the mind of a female serial killer that is moved only by music as she tries to get away with murder. A tale of cat and mouse has the reader ask what she is trying to hide. An epic thriller and a fantastic read!" —Tanya Roberts CER at Indigo Books, Québec Canada

"Engaging, stomach twisting, breathtaking, heart breaking, mind bending! Worthington pushes you relentlessly down a path of redemption and off the rough edges of unpaid dues—wherever they are hiding. All the way throwing society's complicity in your face. Not only craftily written but intelligently crafted, he ensnares all your senses while keeping you guessing. A must read for fans of Nordic crime and lovers of twisting storylines." —Dalilah Konig, bookseller at Orell Füssli, Switzerland

"A masterfully built story of abuse, pain, and possible redemption unfolds. Every twist and turn was unexpected and kept me wanting to know more. Can understanding the "Monsters" make you accept or condemn them? How Worthington made me actually love and understand a serial killer is beyond me." ~Erin E. Forys, Barnes and Noble, Williamsburg, VA

"A hell-raising revenge tale for fans of Gillian Flynn, Stieg Larsson, and Karin Slaughter that forces readers down a dark road with an unexpected twist." —Bram Stoker Awards Nominee, Monique Snyman, South Africa

Author Biography

Gareth Worthington holds a degree in marine biology, a PhD in Endocrinology, an executive MBA, is Board Certified in Medical Affairs, and currently works for the Pharmaceutical industry educating the World's doctors on new cancer therapies. Gareth is an authority in ancient history, has hand-tagged sharks in California, and trained in various martial arts, including Jeet Kune Do and Muay Thai at the EVOLVE MMA gym in Singapore and 2FIGHT in Switzerland. His work has won multiple awards, including Dragon Award Finalist and an IPPY award for Science Fiction. He is a member of the International Thriller Writers Association, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and the British Science Fiction Association. Born in England, Gareth has lived around the world from Asia, to Europe to the USA. Wherever he goes, he endeavors to continue his philanthropic work with various charities.