Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
The Tiger and the Wolf
The Tiger and the Wolf

The Tiger and the Wolf

Echoes of the Fall


608 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $14.95 (US $14.95)

Publication Date: January 2017

ISBN 9781447234579

Rights: US

Pan Macmillan (Jan 2017)
Pan Books

Price: $14.95


The first book in a new fantasy series—a coming of age tale as a young girl must find her place in a dangerous world on the brink of war

Maniye's father is the Wolf clan's chieftain, but she's an outcast. Her mother was queen of the Tiger and these tribes have been enemies for generations. Maniye also hides a deadly secret. All can shift into their clan's animal form, but Maniye can take on tiger and wolf shapes. She refuses to disown half her soul, so escapes, rescuing a prisoner of the Wolf clan in the process. The killer Broken Axe is set on their trail, to drag them back for retribution. Maniye's father plots to rule the north, and controlling his daughter is crucial to his schemes. However, other tribes also prepare for strife. Strangers from the far south appear too, seeking allies in their own conflict. It's a season for omens as priests foresee danger, and a darkness falling across the land. Some say a great war is coming, overshadowing even Wolf ambitions. A time of testing and broken laws is near, but what spark will set the world ablaze?


"It's addictively brilliant! The protagonist is vivid and sympathetic—and I love both the story and the world Adrian has created. It's meticulously thought out and utterly believable." —John Gwynne, author, Ruin

"A classically brilliant fantasy writer, a pusher of boundaries, a great storyteller." —Paul Cornell, Doctor Who screenwriter

A "brilliantly conceived and executed shape-changer Bronze Age saga featuring a heartbreaking heroine." —Publishers Weekly

"Those who enjoy coming-of-age stories, a natural setting, and strong characters will greatly enjoy this story."  —Booklist

Author Biography

Adrian Tchaikovsky is the author of the Shadows of the Apt series, which includes Empire in Black and Gold, Dragonfly Falling, Blood of the Mantis, and other titles.