Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

The Morning After
The Morning After

The Morning After

Poetry and Prose in a Post-Truth World


144 Pages, 6 x 9

Formats: Trade Paper, EPUB, PDF, Mobipocket

Trade Paper, $16.00 (US $16.00) (CA $22.00)

Publication Date: September 2017

ISBN 9781609405403

Rights: WOR

Wings Press (Sep 2017)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $16.00


The Morning After is Margaret Randall's 30th poetry collection and eleventh with Wings Press. The title poem was written, as so many in this country were, the morning after the November 8, 2016 presidential election: "I wish there was a pill for that," is one of its lines. But Randall doesn't stay with anger, irony, or a pamphleteering voice. Her work goes much deeper, grappling with ageless concerns and unexpected details. Throughout this volume there is a concern with time, place, and memory; intimate landscape; mature love; the current threat to the richness of language; global consciousness; a mapping of human questioning and exploration of identity. In these pages the reader will find George Zimmerman's gun, a herd of buffalo at Standing Rock, rebar, the Super Moon, "reptile dysfunction," and multiple choice vs. Socratic wisdom. Reflecting Randall's recent work with translation, several poems take on that practice in its broadest sense. Stylistically, for the first time in half a century she has gone back to her modus of the 1960s and mixed story and prosody with poetry; only now the result is more sophisticated and much harder hitting. The title poem of The Morning After first appeared in two anthologies of poetry responding to the January 2017 presidential inauguration: Resist Much / Obey Little: Inaugural Poems to the Resistance and Truth to Power; and in Spanish translation in Revista Casa de las Américas, Havana, Cuba. The Morning After contains powerful poems of witness as well as personal poems, both of which soar through "limitless rooms, unfenced spaces / where our thoughts may procreate / before they change direction," as well as autobiographical prose pieces (that read like prose poems), recounting a life of resistance, the life of a life-long literary and political revolutionary. If ever there were a time for the words of Margaret Randall, it is now. Read this book. Howl this book!


"At once sweeping and intimate, in The Morning After we wake up to a world in which everything is on the table: global warfare, architecture, quantum theory, aging, and so much more. This deeply moving collection of recent poetry — and a rarer gift, prose — from Margaret Randall offers the reader generous entry into the poet's singular history, as well as a lens onto our own days in 'vivid color, malleable tense.' Urging her audience to 'reject the confines of our binary world,' and 'taking silence by both shoulders / [shaking] hard…,' these pages are, indeed, 'smoke signals of resistance to the four directions.' Perhaps, for Randall, the result is an 'accidental map,' but for us this is an atlas of inestimable value, one to hold tight as we seek to chart our course as not only poets but as humans, making sense of our path in this time and place." —Lynne DeSilva-Johnson, Managing Editor, The Operating System

"The Morning After refers not only to the coming of a post-truth world on November 9, 2106; it is also a mourning cry for the justice that make new worlds possible. Margaret Randall is unafraid to ask the questions that matter; her perspectives are dictated by the vast reach of her imagination and a life-time of embracing risk." —Cecile Pineda, author of Face, Frieze, Love Queen of the Amazon, Bardo99, Devil's Tango, Three Tides: Writing at the Edge of Being, et al.

Author Biography

Margaret Randall is a feminist poet, writer, photographer and social activist. She is the author of over 100 books. Born in New York City in 1936, she has lived for extended periods in Albuquerque, New York, Seville, Mexico City, Havana, and Managua. Shorter stays in Peru and North Vietnam were also formative. In the 1960s, with Sergio Mondragón she founded and co-edited El Corno Emplumado / The Plumed Horn, a bilingual literary journal which for eight years published some of the most dynamic and meaningful writing of an era. Robert Cohen took over when Mondragón left the publication in 1968. From 1984 through 1994 she taught at a number of U.S. universities. Randall was privileged to live among New York's abstract expressionists in the 1950s and early '60s, participate in the Mexican student movement of 1968, share important years of the Cuban revolution (1969-1980), the first four years of Nicaragua's Sandinista project (1980-1984), and visit North Vietnam during the heroic last months of the U.S. American war in that country (1974). Her four children—Gregory, Sarah, Ximena and Ana—have given her ten grandchildren and one great-grandchild. She has lived with her life companion, the painter and teacher Barbara Byers, for the past 29 years. Upon her return to the United States from Nicaragua in 1984, Randall was ordered to be deported when the government invoked the 1952 McCarran-Walter Immigration and Nationality Act, judging opinions expressed in some of her books to be "against the good order and happiness of the United States." The Center for Constitutional Rights defended Randall, and many writers and others joined in an almost five-year battle for reinstatement of citizenship. She won her case in 1989. In 1990 Randall was awarded the Lillian Hellman and Dashiell Hammett grant for writers victimized by political repression. In 2004 she was the first recipient of PEN New Mexico's Dorothy Doyle Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing and Human Rights Activism. Recent non-fiction books by Randall include To Change the World: My Life in Cuba (Rutgers University Press), More Than Things (University of Nebraska Press), Che On My Mind, and Haydée Santamaría, Cuban Revolutionary: She Led by Transgression (both from Duke University Press). Her most recent nonfiction works are Only the Road / Solo el Camino: Eight Decades of Cuban Poetry (Duke, 2016) and Exporting Revolution: Cuba's Global Solidarity (Duke, 2017). "The Unapologetic Life of Margaret Randall" is an hour-long documentary by Minneapolis filmmakers Lu Lippold and Pam Colby. It is distributed by Cinema Guild in New York City. Randall's most recent collections of poetry and photographs are Their Backs to the Sea (2009) and My Town: A Memoir of Albuquerque, New Mexico (2010), As If the Empty Chair: Poems for the disappeared / Como si la silla vacía: Poemas para los desaparecidos (2011), Where Do We Go From Here? (2012), Daughter of Lady Jaguar Shark (2013), The Rhizome as a Field of Broken Bones (2013), and About Little Charlie Lindbergh and other Poems (2014), and She Becomes Time (2016), all published by Wings Press.