Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
The Monster's Wife
The Monster's Wife

The Monster's Wife

FICTION

258 Pages, 6 x 9

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $19.95 (US $19.95) (CA $23.95)

Publication Date: October 2016

ISBN 9781909954052

Rights: US & CA

Barbican Press (Oct 2016)

Price: $19.95
 
 

Overview

A literary gothic, in the tradition of Jean Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea and Valerie Martin's Mary Reilly. A startling new sequel to Mary Shelley's classic novel Frankenstein. Told from the perspective of the girl Victor Frankenstein transformed into a Bride for his monster. To a tiny island in the Scottish Orkneys, peopled by a devout community of twenty, comes Victor Frankenstein, driven there by a Devil's bargain: to make a wife for the Creature who is stalking him across Europe. In this darkly-wrought answer to Frankenstein, we hear the untold tale of the monster's wife through the perspective of the doctor's housemaid. Oona works below stairs with her best friend May, washing the doctor's linens and keeping the fires lit at the Big House. An orphan whose only legacy is the illness that killed her mother, Oona knows she is doomed. But she is also thirsty for knowledge, determined to know life fully before it slips away. As tensions heighten between Victor and the islanders, Oona becomes the doctor's trusted accomplice, aiding in secret experiments and seeing horrors she sometimes wishes to forget. When May disappears, Oona must face up to growing suspicions about the enigmatic employer to whom she has grown close - but the truth is darker than anything she could imagine.

Author Biography

Born into a family of eccentrics and raised in a haunted house on the outskirts of London, Kate developed an early interest in the dark side of things. At the age of 21, she moved to Boston MA to take up a scholarship at Harvard and lived and worked there for nearly a decade, her jobs ranging from Lecturer and researcher to babysitter and box-assembler. Eventually her childhood dreams of being a writer began to haunt her and she abandoned truth for fiction. She now lives in Manchester with her artist husband, John Brewer, a small person called Violet and a ghost called Ron. Her first novel, The Monster's Wife, came out with Barbican Press in September 2014 and was shortlisted for the Scottish First Book of the Year Award. Her second novel, The American Girl, is published by William Morrow (US) and HarperCollins (UK) July 2016. Her poems and short fiction have appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies including Best British Crime Stories.