Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
The Floods: Disasterchef
The Floods: Disasterchef

The Floods: Disasterchef

The Floods


204 Pages, 5 x 8

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $13.99 (US $13.99) (CA $16.99)

Publication Date: September 2012

ISBN 9781864719475

Rights: US & CA

Random House Australia Pty Ltd (Sep 2012)
Random House Australia

Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock


Betty and Ffiona have ambitions to open the first fine dining restaurant in Dreary but is their cooking up to scratch? Betty and her friend Ffiona love cooking. The trouble is, they are both so useless at it that their families make themselves ill just to avoid their meals, because eating would make them even more ill. It isn't that their families are too kind to tell the girls how bad their cooking is—they tell them all the time. But Betty and Ffiona don't believe them, and now the girls are planning to open Transylvania Waters's first gourmet restaurant. Queen Mordonna forbids them, unless they can prove their cooking skills by winning TV's most popular cooking contest. Will they poison all the judges, or will they triumph and bring their "interesting" creations to the discerning population?


"Its mix of wizardry and wisecracks make it the next best thing to a new Harry Potter book . . . Crab Scrambly's illustrations are the coolest things this side of the grave."  — on Good Neighbors

"Middle-graders clamoring for more magic books may enjoy its over-the-top humor and magic."  —Booklist on Good Neighbors

Author Biography

Colin Thompson has received several awards, including an Aurealis Award for the novel How to Live Forever and the CBC Picture Book of the Year for The Short and Incredibly Happy Life of Riley. He is also the author of The Big Little Book of Happy Sadness and Free to a Good Home. He has been short-listed for many other awards, including the Astrid Lindgren Award—the most prestigious children's literature prize in the world.