Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
The Bear and the Serpent
The Bear and the Serpent

The Bear and the Serpent

Echoes of the Fall


544 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $14.95 (US $14.95)

Publication Date: November 2017

ISBN 9781509830251

Rights: US

Pan Macmillan (Nov 2017)
Pan Books

Price: $14.95


The second book in Adrian Tchaikovsky's epic fantasy series, Echoes of the Fall, following The Tiger and the Wolf

Maniye, child of both Wolf and Tiger clans, has been named Champion of her people. But they're unsure if she's an asset—or a threat. To buy time, she joins Prince Tecuman's warband of outcasts and heads south, to help him gain his crown. She wants to discover her true place in the world, but instead heads into the jaws of a fierce new conflict. Civil war threatens as Tecuman and his twin sister battle for the throne, for only one can rule. Yet whoever triumphs will carry a heavy burden, as a great doom has been foreseen that will fall across their whole world. And soon Maniye finds herself at the heart of a political storm. Danger is also shadowing her old home, where Lord Thunder and his bear clan are attempting to unite the northern tribes. But only extreme peril will end age-old rivalries. An adversary from the most ancient of times is preparing to strike, putting their lands and their very souls in danger. And neither north nor south will be spared the terror to come.


"A brilliantly conceived and executed shape-changer Bronze Age saga featuring a heartbreaking heroine." —Publishers Weekly starred review of The Tiger and the Wolf

"A classically brilliant fantasy writer, a pusher of boundaries, a great storyteller." —Paul Cornell, Doctor Who screenwriter

"Those who enjoy coming-of-age stories, a natural setting, and strong characters will greatly enjoy this story." —Booklist on The Tiger and the Wolf

"well-wrought second installment."—Publishers Weekly

"truly fascinating?even better than the first book, The Tiger and the Wolf . . . This series has won my heart and interest, and I'm looking forward to the next installment in this ECHOES OF THE FALL series." —    

Author Biography

Adrian Tchaikovsky is the author of the Shadows of the Apt series, which includes Empire in Black and Gold, Dragonfly Falling, and Blood of the Mantis, and of Children of Time, the winner of the 30th Anniversary Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel.