Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

Close
Pantomime
Pantomime

Pantomime

Micah Grey Trilogy

YOUNG ADULT FICTION

400 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $16.95 (US $16.95)

Publication Date: February 2017

ISBN 9781509807772

Rights: US

Pan Macmillan (Feb 2017)
Pan Books

Price: $16.95
 
 

Overview

The first novel in a mesmerizing fantasy series for fans of The Night Circus and Holly Black. Nominated for the 2014 ALA Rainbow list.

Gene's life resembles a debutante's dream. Yet she hides a secret that would see her shunned by the nobility. Gene is both male and female. She also displays unwanted magical abilities, last seen in mysterious beings from a long-ago age. Matters escalate when her parents plan a devastating betrayal, so she flees, dressed as a boy. The city beyond contains glowing glass relics from a lost civilization. They call to her, but she wants freedom, not mysteries. Reinvented as Micah Grey, Gene joins the circus as an aerialist. She discovers the joy of flight, but is plagued by visions of danger.

Reviews

"Took me to an exotic and detailed world, peopled by characters that I'd love to be friends with . . . and some I'd never want to cross paths with." —Robin Hobb, author, Farseer Trilogy

"Set in a vividly imagined world with wonderful steampunk touches, Pantomime is a fable-like story as beautifully unique as its main character." —Malinda Lo, author, Ash

"Laura Lam has created a world which will take your breath away, and characters you will never want to leave. Enchanting." —Lou Morgan, author, Blood and Feathers

"Who hasn't dreamed off running off and joining the circus? Laura Lam's Micah does just that, discovering a world of clowns and acrobats, con men and tricksters, corruption and incompetent doctors, and maybe more about himself. I look forward to more from this author." —Brian Katcher, author of Almost Perfect and winner of the 2011 Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award

"Welcome to a world of shills and showmen, fading tech and circus freaks, where nothing and no-one is what it appears. An absorbing, accomplished debut." —Elspeth Cooper, author, Trinity Rising

Author Biography

Laura Lam was raised near San Francisco. She is the author of the award-winning Micah Grey series.