Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

No Fixed Line
No Fixed Line

No Fixed Line

A Kate Shugak Investigation


336 Pages, 5.5 x 9

Formats: Cloth, Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $24.95 (US $24.95) (CA $33.95)

Publication Date: January 2020

ISBN 9781788549127

Rights: US & CA

Head of Zeus (Jan 2020)

Price: $24.95


The 22nd entry in New York Times-bestselling author Dana Stabenow's atmospheric Alaskan crime series

It is New Year's Eve, nearly six weeks into an off-and-on blizzard that has locked Alaska down, effectively cutting it off from the outside world. But now there are reports of a plane down in the Quilak mountains. With the NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board—responsible for investigating aviation incidents) unable to reach the crash site, ex-Trooper Jim Chopin is pulled out of retirement to try to identify the aircraft, collect the corpses, and determine why no flight has been reported missing. But Jim discovers survivors: two children who don't speak a word of English. Meanwhile, PI Kate Shugak receives an unexpected and unwelcome accusation from beyond the grave, a charge that could change the face of the Park forever.


"Stabenow is blessed with a rich prose style and a fine eye for detail. An outstanding series." —Washington Post on the Kate Shugak series 

"Crime fiction doesn't get much better than this." —Booklist starred review of Less than a Treason

Richly nuanced, highly entertaining 21st Kate Shugak mystery. . . . The dialogue is smart, authentic, and reminiscent of Elmore Leonard." —Publishers Weekly starred review of Less than a Treason

"Fans will hope this series goes on forever." — Publishers Weekly

"A fine entry in a series that's deservedly a fan favorite."— Booklist Online

Author Biography

Dana Stabenow is the author of the bestselling Kate Shugak series, which includes Less than a Treason, Midnight Come Again, The Singing of the Dead, and Bad Blood. She has won the Edgar Award and the Nero Award, and in 2007 she was named Alaska Artist of the Year in the Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities.