Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

Jewels in the Crown
Jewels in the Crown

Jewels in the Crown

How Tata of India Transformed Britain's Jaguar and Land Rover


288 Pages, 6 x 9.5

Formats: Cloth, EPUB, Mobipocket, PDF

Cloth, $32.95 (US $32.95) (CA $36.95)

Publication Date: September 2013

ISBN 9781908739827

Rights: US & CA

Elliott & Thompson (Sep 2013)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Out of Stock. E-book edition is available.


Jewels in the Crown, winner of the 2013 Montagu Trophy by the Guild of Motoring Writers, provides an analysis of Tata’s acquisition of Jaguar and Land Rover in 2008, and subsequent transformation of their fortunes, written by an award-winning motoring writer. Ray Hutton goes behind the scenes to examine how Tata have not only returned the business to profit, but also transformed the public image of these long-established British brands. At the time of the takeover, both brands (once the crown jewels of the British motor industry) had been tarnished by a patchy reputation for quality and reliability. Tata bought a new approach to the business, with fast decision-making and a solid, sustainable, long-term strategy. Factory efficiency was improved and a major export drive accompanied by a succession of carefully-positioned new models, from the Jaguar XJ Saloon and F-Type sports car to the Evoque and the new, lighter but more luxurious Range Rover flagship. The result was a remarkable change of fortunes. This book shows how it was done.

Author Biography

Ray Hutton has been writing about the motor industry for more than 35 years. A former editor-in-chief of Autocar magazine, his work appears in magazines and newspapers all over the world, including the Sunday Times and Motor Trader (UK), Car and Driver (USA), and Overdrive (India). He was twice-winner of the Bentley International Award presented by the UK Guild of Motoring Writers, is Honorary President of The International Car of the Year jury, and the author of a number of books, including the centenary history of the FIA (Federation de ‘Automobile).