Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
Himalayan Portfolios
Himalayan Portfolios
Himalayan PortfoliosHimalayan Portfolios | Alt 1
Himalayan PortfoliosHimalayan Portfolios | Alt 2
Himalayan PortfoliosHimalayan Portfolios | Alt 3
Himalayan PortfoliosHimalayan Portfolios | Alt 4

Himalayan Portfolios

Journeys of the Imagination

Photographs By Kenneth Hanson

PHOTOGRAPHY

190 Pages, 13.5 x 11

Cloth, $85.00 (US $85.00) (CA $93.95)

Publication Date: September 2009

ISBN 9780979059704

Rights: WOR

Fields Publishing (Sep 2009)

Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock
 

Overview

A hauntingly beautiful photographic trek through the Himalayas

Dramatically immortalizing the breathtaking beauty and remote wilderness of one of the planet’s last untamed frontiers, this intriguing photographic exploration of near inaccessible landscape and culture illuminates the starkly beautiful but often inhospitable Himalayan regions. Religiously documented over a 20-year period, these glorious, panoramic black-and-white images—including one breathtaking, 48-inch panorama—are the remarkable result of a dedicated and passionate fascination with the history and vistas of the Himalayas. Complemented by trekking maps of mountains, glaciers, and rivers—from the peaks of Kashmir, the Hidden Realm, and the Great Cleft of the Kali Gandaki to mighty Mount Everest in Tibet and Nepal—and accompanied by scholarly essays penned with scientific, geological, and spiritual analysis of the region, this stunning visual journey illustrates the Himalayas as an enduring emblem of man’s ultimate challenge in nature.

Reviews

"With awesome images and insightful commentary, this significant book will engage both general and specialized audiences with various interests not limited to extreme experiences, mountaineering, and fine arts landscape photography. Strongly recommended." —Library Journal

"This is one of the truly important books of landscape photography and right in the tradition of Ansel Adams and Timothy O'Sullivan. Extraordinary!" —Lee A. Jacobus, author, Volcanic Jesus

"An invaluable book for those who are thinking of going to the Himalayas, those who have been, and for those who wish to explain to others why they went." —Bart Jordans, author, Bhutan: A Trekker's Guide

Author Biography

Kenneth Hanson is a writer, an exhibiting artist, and an extreme-climates landscape photographer. He is a former senior research biochemist at the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, and is a member of the Silvermine Guild of Artists. He lives in Orange, Connecticut.