Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
Hillstation
Hillstation

Hillstation

FICTION

320 Pages, 5 x 7.75

Formats: Mobipocket, EPUB, PDF, Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $14.95 (US $14.95) (CA $19.95)

Publication Date: May 2017

ISBN 9781843447429

Rights: US, CA & MX

Oldcastle Books Ltd (May 2017)
Oldcastle Books

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $14.95
 
 

Overview

A debut novel for fans of Slumdog Millionaire, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, The White Tiger, and other postcolonial fiction

Dreaming of escape from his remote village in the Himalayan foothills, Rabindra entreats the gods to send him an English bride. When a saucy English dance troupe arrives on the run from a Bombay crime boss, Rabindra believes that his prayers have been answered. Except that they have no interest in marrying anyone. As the village begins to unravel in the presence of these scandalous foreigners, surprising secrets emerge from the depths of its past. This story is a love poem to a glorious, intriguing and sometimes frustrating culture still alive in the far corners of a great continent, but slowly fading to the onslaught of the technological age.

Author Biography

Robin Mukherjee is an award-winning filmmaker. His first feature film, set in India, won the Audience Prize at the London Film Festival. His most recent film, Lore, has won numerous awards world-wide. He was nominated for a BAFTA for his original series, Combat Kids, for CBBC.