Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
Doubling Back
Doubling Back

Doubling Back

TRAVEL

256 Pages, 5 x 9

Formats: EPUB, Mobipocket

EPUB, $14.99 (US $14.99) (CA $17.99)

Publication Date: October 2014

ISBN 9781908754554

Rights: US & CA

Freight Books (Oct 2014)

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $14.99
NOTE: You are attempting to order an e-book. Please see will it work on my eReader? for directions on how to enjoy this book on your eReader device.
 
add ebook to cart
 

Overview

A fascinating and moving account of walking in the footsteps of others, and a masterwork of travel writing In 1952, Linda Cracknell's father embarked on a hike through the Swiss Alps. It was the last walk he would ever take. Linda retraces that fateful journey 50 years later, following the trail of the man she barely knew. This collection of walking tales take their theme from that pilgrimage. The walks trace the contours of memories, following friends, writers, and relations along trails across mountains, valleys, and coasts from the Highlands of Scotland to Kenya. Each walk is about the reaffirming of memories, beliefs, and emotions, and especially of the connection that one can have with the past. This book celebrates life, family, friendship, and walking through mountain landscapes richly textured with stories. A masterwork of travel writing in the vein of Robert Macfarlane and Roger Deakin, this lyrical, poignant book contains stunning landscape descriptions.

Author Biography

Linda Cracknell writes short stories, drama for BBC, and creative non-fiction. She was shortlisted for the Scottish First Book Award for her story collection Life Drawing and the Robin Jenkins Literary Award for environmental writing.