Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
Close
Ares
Ares

Ares

Fighting Anthonys

FICTION

300 Pages, 5 x 8

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $20.99 (CA $27.99) (US $20.99)

Publication Date: March 2020

ISBN 9781938463785

Rights: WOR

Bitingduck Press (Mar 2020)

Price: $20.99
 
 

Overview

When Gabe suddenly finds himself dealing with England's spy network, can he and his crew withstand their biggest test ever?

It's 1781 and the war with the Colonies is not going well for the British. Admiral Rodney has raided the Dutch island of Saint Eustatius, taking a great fortune in treasure. He sends a large part of his fleet back to England as escorts for the treasure ship, causing severe consequences later when his ships are needed the most. Vice Admiral Lord Gilbert Anthony is recalled to England for a new assignment and brings his squadron, including younger brother Captain Gabriel "Sir Gabe" Anthony, who has been given command of Ares, a French prize. She is a razee, a fast and a heavily armed forty-four gun frigate. While in England, Gabe's life is threatened and he is aided by a homeless waif that he'd befriended. The boy is gravely wounded, and when he heals, Gabe's uncle Dagan discovers the boy is more than he appears. The Foreign Services Secret Department requests that Gabe be assigned to them to transport their agents around the Caribbean. As he returns to Antigua, Gabe suddenly finds himself dealing with England's spy network. Fighting the Americans, French, Spain, and now the Dutch puts his ship and crew to their biggest test ever. Can Gabe, as captain, stand the test?

Reviews

"Aye is at his best telling stories through striking characters...His breezy prose flows with the ease of a ship under plain sail." —Quarterdeck Maritime Literature and Art Review, Summer 2019

"A fast-paced sea adventure in the tradition of Kent and Pope...if Louis L'Amour had written an Age of Sail novel this would be it." —Tall Ships Books

Author Biography

Michael Aye is a retired Naval Medical Officer. He has long been a student of early American and British Naval history. Since reading his first Kent novel, Mike has spent many hours reading the great authors of sea fiction, often while being "haze gray and underway" himself.