Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:

All the Animals on Earth


248 Pages, 5.5 x 8.5

Formats: Trade Paper, EPUB

Trade Paper, $19.00 (US $19.00)

Publication Date: September 2020

ISBN 9781989496107

Rights: US

Wolsak and Wynn Publishers Ltd (Sep 2020)
Buckrider Books


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $19.00


To solve the world's depopulation problem, scientists have developed a process known as "pullulation," which transmogrifies birds and mammals into humanoid form. When a terrible accident occurs, the once desolate planet Earth's population quadruples overnight with the appearance of strange new beings known as "Blomers." Now human, or at least human-like, Blomers bring with them certain talents based on their forebears: foxes are mathematically inclined, blue jays are visually artistic, and gophers are courageous and strong. But with these aptitudes come a predilection for a free and open sexuality and a tendency toward violence among their own kind. Humans are at best bemused and at worst horrified by the Blomers' bizarre behaviour. Buttoned-down insurance manager Hector Thompson hates two things: change and science fiction. Finding himself in the middle of both, Hector must embark on a road trip across North America to reckon with the full impact of pullulation and what responsibilities he has to the rapidly changing society in which he lives.


"Mark Sampson ... mirthfully anatomizes the complex entanglements of the here and now. Entertainingly satiric, Sampson nonetheless holds out the hope that freeing ourselves from cultural mires isn't a total impossibility." – Toronto Star on The Slip "Offering sly comic pokes and affable satire, this memorable collection of 13 stories frequently highlights the significant gap between the empire-building ambitions of men and their humdrum and hemmed-in middle-management realities." – Publishers Weekly on The Secrets Men Keep

Author Biography

Mark Sampson is the author of five previous books: the novels The Slip (Dundurn Press, 2017), Sad Peninsula (Dundurn Press, 2014) and Off Book (Norwood Publishing, 2007); the short story collection The Secrets Men Keep (Now or Never Publishing, 2015); and the poetry collection Weathervane (Palimpsest Press, 2016). Mark has published many short stories and poems in literary journals across Canada, including in The New Quarterly, The Antigonish Review, PRISM international, The Nashwaak Review, The Puritan, This magazine and FreeFall. He is a frequent book reviewer for Quill & Quire, Canadian Notes & Queries (CNQ) and other publications. Born and raised on Prince Edward Island, he currently lives and writes in Toronto.