Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

Close
All Shades of Iberibe
All Shades of Iberibe

All Shades of Iberibe

0-3

FICTION

212 Pages, 5 x 8

Formats: Trade Paper, EPUB

Trade Paper, $18.95 (US $18.95) (CA $24.95)

Publication Date: November 2021

ISBN 9789533513409

Rights: US & CA

Sandorf Passage (Nov 2021)

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $18.95
 
 

Overview

In the Nigerian language Igbo "iberibe" means "messed up." This stunning short story collection by Kasimma grabs readers and pulls them into the cities and villages of today's Nigeria. Against the glare of smart phone screens, spirits of the dead flicker, elders admonish their grown children, rituals are done in secret, and the scars of war are just below the surface in the lives of astonishingly vivid characters. Kasimma's stories effortlessly inhabit the dark, alluring, and beautiful spaces between mystical Nigerian traditions and our strange contemporary condition.

Reviews

"Kasimma is a brave, inventive, new voice. I'm captivated by her stories." —Okey Ndibe, author of Arrows of Rain and Foreign Gods, Inc.

"All Shades of Iberibe pulses with wit and wisdom. In stories that often surprise, that often blur the line between the living and the dead, Kasimma presents a Nigeria that is peopled with characters struggling as much to understand as to be understood." —Chika Unigwe, author, Better Late Than Never and Night Dancer

"[An] epic and alluring short story collection." —Chinasa Afigbo, Afreecan Read's deputy editor

"The past leaks into the present, the spirit world leaks into our world, the old ways leak into the new but through it all a celebration of living life in this messy world radiates from every story. Perfect for fans of Where the Wild Ladies Are." —Josh Cook, Porter Square Books

"Kasimma's debut collection of stories draws heavily from Nigerian mythic traditions. The stories are thrilling in their somewhat absurd and surprising takes on contemporary Nigerian life." —Brittle Paper

Author Biography

Kasimma is an alumni of Chimamanda Adichie's Creative Writing Workshop, SSDA workshop, IWP, and others. She's been a writer-in-residence in artists' residencies across Africa, Asia, and Europe. Her works appear or are forthcoming in The Book Smuggler's Den, Jellyfish Review, Kiwetu Journal, Orbis Journal, and Afreecan Read.