Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured titles, special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Subscribe to receive special offers, monthly books suggestions, seasonal selections, and more!

Close
Mystic Wind
Mystic Wind

Mystic Wind

0-3

A Jack Marino Legal Thriller

FICTION

400 Pages, 6.25 x 9.25

Formats: EPUB, Cloth

Cloth, $27.95 (CA $37.95) (US $27.95)

Publication Date: September 2022

ISBN 9781608094967

Rights: WOR

Oceanview Publishing (Sep 2022)

eBook

eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Not Yet Published. Estimated release date: September 2022
 

Overview

Former Boston prosecutor Jack Marino has a chance to resurrect his faltering career by defending an accused murderer in a high-profile death penalty case, but the corrupt forces determined to pin this murder on his client may have already given absolute immunity to the real killer.Perfect for fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow

Reviews

"Mystic Wind is a stylish, polished, thoroughly enjoyable debut. James Barretto has it all—the authenticity of a courtroom veteran and the craft of a natural storyteller." —William Landay, New York Times best-selling author "James Barretto breaks into the publishing world with an outstanding debut. Fast-paced, carefully crafted, and terrifically well-written, Mystic Wind satisfies on every level. You won't want to put this winner down!" —John Lescroart, New York Times best-selling author "Mystic Wind is a classic legal thriller by an exciting new talent, delivering surprises to the very last page. It grabs us and pulls us into 1980s Boston, a world of violent streets and corrupt politicians, and attorney Jack Marino is the guy we want on our side." —Joseph Finder, New York Times best-selling author "Mystic Wind is a hurricane force legal thriller that blows away the best of John Grisham and Scott Turow. James Barretto's sizzling tale of a murder case that's much more than it seems doubles as a beautifully honed character study of a hero forced to confront his own past. Reminiscent of both Michael Connelly's Mickey Haller novels and Barry Reed's classic The Verdict, this is an absolute must read." —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author "This one pushes the envelope to the edge and beyond with a protagonist racing time and his own shadowy instincts. Lush, lusty, fascinating, and smart. Enjoy this walk on the perilous side." —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

Author Biography

James Barretto is a former appellate brief writer, assistant district attorney, defense attorney, assistant attorney general and AG division chief. As a founding principal at a litigation firm, he has had experience in third-party litigation, worker's compensation, insurance defense, and general civil and criminal litigation. He has also served as a legal analyst for the local affiliate of a national cable news network and has appeared on national and international television as a commentator on a variety of legal subjects. He is currently a judge on the Massachusetts District Court. Mystic Wind is his first novel.