Independent Publishers Group Logo

Sign up today...
for featured pop culture and science reads, books for kids and teens,special offers, bestsellers, and more, in your inbox!

Select topics of interest:
H.M.S. Cockerel
H.M.S. Cockerel

H.M.S. Cockerel

The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures #6

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures


472 Pages, 5.5 x 8.5

Formats: EPUB, Mobipocket, PDF, Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $17.95 (US $17.95) (CA $19.95)

Publication Date: April 2009

ISBN 9781590131312

Rights: WOR

McBooks Press (Apr 2009)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Price: $17.95


A swashbuckling, high seas tale of adventure

Yearning for the high seas, Alan Lewrie plods through his oppressive life as a gentleman farmer and family man. The year is 1793 and after four years spent ashore, Lewrie is gratified when revolutionary France threatens war and the Royal Navy beckons. All does not go smoothly, as he soon finds himself aboard the HMS Cockerel dealing with a difficult captain and disgruntled crew. Once in the Mediterranean, he throws caution to the wind and becomes involved with the bewitching Lady Emma Hamilton. The war escalates and he finds himself at the Battle of Toulon where he meets a dashing young Napoleon Bonaparte. Outnumbered three to one, Lewrie takes on the French in a desperate bid to help the Royalists escape.


"Lambdin's combination of technical and historical accuracy and a fascinating character calls for further sequels. This is a salty, bawdy sea story that will delight fans of the historical action novel. Recommended." —Library Journal

"You can get addicted to this series. Easily." —The New York Times Book Review

"A grand, satisfying yarn . . . Series fans as well as newcomers will relish Lambdin's unerring depiction of Navy politicking . . . and, in fact, all the rich details of late-18th century life at sea and shore." —Publishers Weekly

Author Biography

Dewey Lambdin has been a sailor since 1976 and has worked as a director, writer, and producer for television and advertising. He is the author of the Alan Lewrie series and What Lies Buried: A Novel of Old Cape Fear. He lives in Nashville, Tennessee.