Dear Ghost,
Dear Ghost,

Dear Ghost,

POETRY

104 Pages, 6 x 9

Formats: Trade Paper

Trade Paper, $18.00 (US $18.00)

Publication Date: July 2017

ISBN 9781928088318

Rights: US

Wolsak and Wynn Publishers Ltd (Jul 2017)

Price: $18.00
 
 

Overview

Catherine Owen's latest collection is an extended love letter to her poetic influences and to the real-world objects, people, places and situations that fascinate her. Inspired by the work of John Ashbery, among others, in Dear Ghost, Owen returns to the kooky imagery and humorous style she last visited with her award-winning collection Frenzy. These poems entertain immensities of sound while plumbing the depths of the psyche's surrealities, content to enter a dreamlike realm where meaning is found in the nonsensical, the utterly human and the everyday. While Owen gathers her subjects from the mundane – work, sex, acquaintances and art – she imbues them with the extraordinary quirks and uncertainties that only language can create, and the effects are dizzying.

Reviews

"Engaging, informative, concise, evocative – Catherine Owen's The Other 23 & a Half Hours is a clear, keen contemporary snapshot of Canada's vibrant poetry community. A must read for any new, emerging poet." —Mark McCawley, Urban Graffiti on The Other 23 & a Half Hours

"Designated Mourner is a book about unimaginable grief and the journey of learning to live with loss. Owen's gorgeous sensory language invites us to travel along with her and find a way through our own pain. This collection encompasses everything it means to survive being human." —Esther Griffin, PRISM international on Designated Mourner

"Trobairitz starts the heart like the thud of a bass line and opens the mind like a scream, poem after poem." – Liz Worth, Quill & Quire on Trobairitz

"Catherine Owen's book of poetry, Seeing Lessons, demonstrates the power of both optical and linguistic imagery to capture the past and show us the present with new eyes." —Ian Devenney, Alternatives Journal on Seeing Lessons

"In the vein of Carol Ann Duffy's Raptures, Designated Mourner tenderly surrenders Owen's emotions and vulnerability to the page." —Quill and Quire on Designated Mourner 

"Grief is a challenging subject at the best of times, but Owen manages to deftly sidestep the temptations to idealize or to wallow. Presented utterly without irony, these poems are tender and sweet, yet never become cloying . . . Designated Mourner is raw emotion beautifully wrought, and I wept openly as I read." —Broken Pencil on Designated Mourner

"In her capable poetic hands – Owen is author of nine books of verse and criticism – emotions find crystalline expression and these pieces attain indelible life for their deft separating of what is truly important from the emotional chaff that occupies a typical life." —Vancouver Sun"Designated Mourner is a book about unimaginable grief and the journey of learning to live with loss. Owen's gorgeous sensory language invites us to travel along with her and find a way through our own pain. This collection encompasses everything it means to survive being human." – Esther Griffin, PRISM international "Trobairitz starts the heart like the thud of a bass line and opens the mind like a scream, poem after poem." – Liz Worth, Quill & Quire "Catherine Owen's book of poetry, Seeing Lessons, demonstrates the power of both optical and linguistic imagery to capture the past and show us the present with new eyes." – Ian Devenney, Alternatives Journal

Author Biography

Catherine Owen is the author of ten collections of poetry and three of prose, including her compilation of interviews on writing called The Other 23 & a Half Hours: Or Everything You Wanted to Know that Your MFA Didn't Teach You and her short story collection, The Day of the Dead. Her work has been nominated for awards, toured Canada eight times and appeared in anthologies, as well as translations. She has been employed by both the Locations and the Props department in TV land, plays metal bass and has two cats: Solstice and Equinox.